AUGUST IN REVIEW

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

What I’ve been writing…

Still working on rewriting that weird YA dark fantasy. I’m about halfway through the rewrite, and I’ve actually been having a tough time making much progress. Sometimes that’s just how it goes, though. Also, I think anxiety about my impending book release and the start of the new school year is getting to me, so I need to figure out that action. I think it’s important to acknowledge that this is a stressful time for me and it’s okay if I’m not churning out words.

What I’ve been reading…

IMG_20150819_185615

  • ARMADA by Ernie Cline
  • THE SERPENT KING by Jeff Zentner (a new favorite!)
  • SNOW LIKE ASHES by Sara Raasch (audiobook)
  • MODERN ROMANCE by Aziz Ansari (audiobok)
  • BORN WITH TEETH by Kate Mulgrew (audiobook)
  • 100 SIDEWAYS MILES by Andrew Smith (audiobook–we did a lot a driving this month)
  • SHADOWSHAPER by Daniel José Older
  • THE CREEPING by Alexandra Siwory
  • A friend’s manuscript
  • THE COURAGE TO TEACH by Parker J. Palmer

What I’ve been watching/listening to/playing…

  • Watching: Everest, Fear the Walking Dead, Married, Wet Hot American Summer, Dating Naked, Twinning, Bachelor in Paradise (the last few here are kind of embarrassing when I list them all in a row like that…)
  • Listening to: Life is Strange soundtrack, the soundtrack for AN INFINITE NUMBER OF PARALLEL UNIVERSES (coming soon!)
  • Playing: Life is Strange (for a second time), Settlers of Catan, Chess, Tokaido, Three Cheers for Master, Machine of Death, Magic: The Gathering

What’s new…

IMG_2049

  • Hung out in Boston with old friends and took a dip in Walden Pond
  • Drove to Florida to visit family (including my new/first niece!)
  • Went to Harry Effing Potter World
  • As stated earlier, the school year is starting back up!

Bonus photos!

IMG_2032 IMG_2084 IMG_2106 IMG_2118

IMG_2001

Leave a comment