BOOK RELEASE PARTY RECAP

Whew.

It’s been a busy couple of months for me. School starting back up (with new responsibilities) + promoting a new book + trying to keep working on a new one is pretty tiring stuff. I can usually quantify exactly how busy I am by my how many books I read per week. During the summer, that number is usually 2-3. The last couple of months it’s dropped to around .5-.75.

BUT!

School is fully underway! The book has come out! The release party happened last Friday!

book release - with books

*wipes sweat off brow*

*washes hands*

That’s right, the release party! The final thing that makes me feel like this “debut” thing has come to end. And it was a LOT of fun! The experience felt very similar to a wedding–a whirlwind of awesome people from different realms of my life with no time to talk to anyone in depth.

I held it in my school instead of a bookstore because I thought that would make it more likely students would go (and several did!). We started out the evening with the CEO of our school introducing me. I thanked a bunch of people, and then one of my former students spoke about The Attic, Philly’s only LBQTIA+ safe space for teens.

After that, I read a chapter (“Her Hidden Multiverse” from Mari’s section), and then did a Q&A, during which I gave out twenty-sided die to those who asked questions. Most of the Qs actually came from my students, and they were thoughtful and interesting.

I then gave away some awesome tabletop games to promote…games (Forbidden Island, Munchkins: Zombies, and Coup). My wonderful wife sold books as I signed, and then people hung out and played games together for a couple of hours. All in all, I’d say it was a success because I had fun! Enjoy the pictures below (all of which I stole from Facebook).

book release - audience

book release - q and a book release - reading book release - sad with kathryn book release - signing till book release - signing book release - talking
book release - with kathryn
image

One thought on “BOOK RELEASE PARTY RECAP

Leave a Reply

