INFINITE PLAYLIST

I’ve been thinking about the soundtrack for AN INFINITE NUMBER OF PARALLEL UNIVERSES for a LONG time. I love music, and it plays a big part in my writing process, so I wanted to get it right. So…here it is. The YouTube and Spotify playlists links are below, or you can hang out and watch each video on this page. I’ve said a bit about each choice below, avoiding spoilers. There are also page numbers so when you get your copy of AN INFINITE NUMBER OF PARALLEL UNIVERSES, you can listen along as you read. Now click play, and let the goodness tickle your ears.

YouTube playlist.

Spotify playlist.

1.) PAGE 5: “The Winner Is” by Devotchka 

Yeah, I know I stole this from LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE. But it’s such a great opening song, and I probably listened to it a million times on repeat while writing this book. It feels like the start of a journey, where potential trouble and hope live.

2.) PAGE 10: “Can’t Admit It” by Lily & Madeleine 

For some reason, few things resonate more with my soul than vocal harmonics and strings. This song has both, so you know it’s good. And listen to the lyrics for a sense of Archie’s state of mind.

3.) PAGE 49: “Fourth of July” by Sufjan Stevens

Love this song. Sad. Beautiful. Haunting. Everything I want people to feel while reading Mari’s scene in this chapter.

4.) PAGE 76: “Boys in the Street” by Greg Holden

I cried the first time I heard this song on the radio. The lyrics tell such a simple and powerful story that I think many people probably relate to–including Dante.

5.) PAGE 128: “Suddenly Everything Has Changed” by The Postal Service (Flaming Lips cover)

Love the Postal Service to death. They’re my go-to music on a road trip once night falls. I had a hell of a time trying to figure out which song of their to include on this playlist, but ultimately went with their cover of the Flaming Lips track because the sound and refrain fit with Sam’s discovery on this page.

6.) PAGE 142: “push pull” by Purity Ring

I love the energy and sound of this song. Perfect flying along the highway as the sunrises behind you.

7.) PAGE 146: “Wild” by Royal Teeth 

Yeah, I know track 6 is probably still playing as you get to this page, but whatever. This is another rad, energy-filled road trip song.

8.) PAGE 176: “Bittersweet Genesis (for Him & Her) by Kishi Bashi

If you’re not listening to Kishi Bashi on a regular basis, you’re doing life wrong. His music is amazing and so damned interesting. This song is my favorite off his most recent album, and perfect for this scene, especially for RPG’ers.

9.) PAGE 186: “Rivers and Roads” by The Head & The Heart 

This is probably the single song I listened to the most while writing INFINITE. It has those soaring female/male vocal harmonics for which I’m such a sucker, and killer lyrics that I think captures the essence of our fictional friends at a literal and metaphorical level.

10.) PAGE 197: “Hoppípolla” by Sigur Rós 

More epic music to be played near the end or your road trip. I can’t speak to the lyrics since Jonsí uses an invented language called Hopelandic, but they’re probably as amazing as the sound of the song.

11.) PAGE 217: “Santa Monica Dream” by Angus & Julia Stone

I stole this song from the soundtrack for the video game Life is Strange, which basically plays like a YA novel reads. I’ve probably listened to that soundtrack a zillion times this summer, so it was difficult deciding which song to steal from it. Ultimately I went with “Santa Monica Dream” because I think this song’s refrain and tone perfectly fits the mood of this scene.

12.) PAGE 226: “Think of Me As a Time of Day” by Explosions in the Sky

While “Rivers and Roads” was the song I listened to most while writing this story, Explosions in the Sky is the band I probably listened to most. If you’ve ever seen Friday Night Lights, then you know that their atmospheric instrumentals make absolutely ANYTHING feel epic, including this scene hopefully. I wish I could program the book to just automatically start playing this band every time you open INFINITE, just like one of those musical greeting cards.

13.) PAGE 236: “Wherever Is Your Heart” by Brandi Carlile 

This song came out after INFINITE already went to print, so I didn’t actually listen to it while writing the story. However, I love it to death, and the first time I heard it I knew it was perfect for the ending.

Well, that’s it, party people. I hope you’ve enjoyed my playlist. I think it’s pretty rad, at least. Keep an eye out for the book trailer later this week, and don’t forget to pre-order AN INFINITE NUMBER OF PARALLEL UNIVERSES or pick it up once it hits shelves on October 16th so you can actually understand what the hell I’m talking about in this post.

2 thoughts on “INFINITE PLAYLIST

Leave a Reply

