I HAVE A BOOK DEAL AND IT FEELS LIKE HUGGING ONE HUNDRED PUPPIES

Huggin pups

Or like this.

Or this.

Or this.

Or this.

Or this.

Or this.

I could go on, but I think you get the point.

I’m pretty damn happy that I can officially announce that I’ve sold my first book, AN INFINITE NUMBER OF PARALLEL UNIVERSES (Merit Press/F+W Media, 2015)!

Here’s the official post on Publisher’s Marketplace:

INFINITE announcement

One of the reasons this feels so great is because of all the effing hard work I’ve put into it. See, “first” book is a little misleading. It’s actually my second…of four. My first completed manuscript was a YA zombie apocalypse novel that will remain in a dark corner of my hard drive like the Man in the Iron Mask. I’m currently revising the third. The fourth is in time-out until it can play nicely with others.

That’s not counting all the other ways I’ve been working toward this for so long. The bad poetry and even worse songwriting. The awkward writing workshops. The reading. MY GOD, SO MUCH READING. The shunning of my parents’ insistence that I secure a financially viable career. And so on.

Let’s not forget the stream of rejections, which has flowed like the Ganges ever since I began submitting my work to agents and publishers and strange men who assured me that they were agents and publishers. I even have a folder in Gmail labeled “Crushed Literary Aspirations” which currently holds 49 emails from over the past four years.

So, yeah, it feels amazing, but not in in a “SUCK IT!” kind of way. Though always soul-crushing initially, I knew that so many rejections meant I needed to improve my writing. So I did. I went to workshops and conferences. I read about craft. I joined a writers group. I dusted off that second manuscript (because I still loved the characters), and I revised the hell out of it. It’s incredibly rewarding, then, to have someone–who is not my mother–affirm that my writing has improved by embracing it as my agent and Merit Press have.

But, hands down, the best part of this is that people will actually be able to read my story (I hope YOU do)! They will get to know the characters I’ve come to love–Archie, Sam, Dante, and Mari–and I hope readers will connect with them. They live on the social fringes. They need help but don’t know how to ask for it. They long for true friendship. They are goofy and geeky and sad and beautiful, and I hope you’ll let them break your heart into a million pieces and then put it back together imperfectly.

I’ve always believed in the power of story, the way fiction entwines itself in our real lives and reminds us of the beauty of the world and our shared humanity. I’m unbelievably honored for the opportunity to bring you such a story.

2 thoughts on “I HAVE A BOOK DEAL AND IT FEELS LIKE HUGGING ONE HUNDRED PUPPIES

  1. I truly believe too…. “The Power of Story” which I have my own story about coming here in America without a dream, everybody says, “I have a dream” for me I never dream. I grew up in a slow phase of life. I was raised by my sister. My parents didn’t even finish elementary, can’t read & write!…My faith in God lead me for a better life, having a good neighbor, with a supportive & loving sister…your life will be okay like the song one of my old fave song “Que Sera Sera”…good job Randy more power to you & more books to come! Yeyyy…#1fan SRB

    Like

Leave a Reply

